SUDEP (Sudden Death In Epilepsy).

One of my online friends died a few days ago because of this, (I just found out) and I thought that this would be a very good topic to talk about on my blog.

SUDEP is defined as an unexpected, fatal death to people who have Epilepsy. It’s still poorly understood; Also, Approximately 50,000 people die each year in the USA from status epilepticus (prolonged seizures), SUDEP, and other seizure-related causes. SUDEP accounts for 8-17% of deaths in people with epilepsy.

When I first heard about SUDEP a year or two ago, I was justifiably afraid for myself and how I didn’t want to leave my family for the big bed upstairs. As soon as I saw my neurologist at the next appointment, I asked him, “What are my chances of getting SUDEP?”

He thought for a moment.

“Little to none,”. But that really didn’t reassure me, as SUDEP is unexpected and fatal like I wrote above. Plus it doesn’t help the fact that I usually have grand mals in my sleep. I just try not to think about it that often, but I had to come out of my comfort zone and show you guys what other things that people REALLY don’t talk about once it comes to Epilepsy.

Here’s a link if you want more information: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sudden_unexpected_death_in_epilepsy

7 thoughts on “SUDEP (Sudden Death In Epilepsy).

  1. A month ago, I lost a friend of mine who was a long time sufferer of epilepsy and no one has been able to explain what was the exact cause of his death since he was in good health otherwise. Your post has brought me some peace of mind and awareness to an issue I didn’t know existed, for that I thank you. In addition, I am sorry for the loss you have experienced due to this very thing.

  2. Peace to you in your loss. Thank you for sharing in your grief. I really do appreciate your heart and transparency. Over the years I have had several friends with various degrees of Epilepsy. I was aware of many of the connected issues, but never of SUDEP! Recently, a very dear friend was informed that his 6 yr. old daughter has epilepsy. Now, after your courage to make us aware, I am even more sensitive to their situation. Again, peace to You!

Leave a Reply

